top of page
spotty pic_edited.jpg
#25 Trainspotting  Limited to 1000 Copies Worldwide

Limited edition – Only 1000 numbered copies will be available Worldwide.


Jay Glennie has interviewed the cast and crew of Trainspotting starring Ewan McGregor, Ewen Bremner, Robert Carlyle, Jonny Lee Miller, Kevin McKidd and Kelly Macdonald.

Adapted from Irvine Welsh’s iconic novel, Danny Boyle’s Trainspotting became one of the defining films of the 90s. Our latest Coattails publication with hundreds of images, many previously unseen, explores the making of the film with exclusive first-hand accounts from the filmmakers themselves. Our book will explore how Welsh wrote the book, how novel came into producer Andrew Macdonald’s orbit and then screenwriter John Hodge’s memories of the seemingly impossible task of adapting the non-linear novel. We discover how Danny Boyle brought together the perfect cast, and how they, in turn, built an unbreakable bond over the seven week shoot.

How Ewan McGregor transformed himself in Renton; how Ewen Bremner nearly turned down the role of Spud; how Robert Carlyle was seduced by Boyle with the tease: “small psychos are the best”; how Danny Boyle cast the very British Jonny Lee Miller as Sick Boy and wanted to kill the goodness of Kevin McKidd’s Tommy; and how Kelly Macdonald made her acting debut.    

We learn how Iggy Pop, Underworld, Leftfield and Primal Scream and many more came together to give us one of the greatest ever soundtracks. 

We come to understand how the man who begun it all, Irvine Welsh, absolutely adored the adaptation. 

Jay Glennie: “What can I say?! To work with so many of my personal heroes in creating this homage to one of my favourite books and films, has once again been a dream gig. The generosity of spirit from Irvine, Danny, John and Andrew, and the cast and crew, in bringing this book together has been wonderful. I hope we have done them proud. I’m pretty sure we have!”    

#25 Trainspotting Limited to 1000 Copies Worldwide


Danny Boyle : Director
Andrew Macdonald : Producer
John Hodge : Screenwriter
Irvine Welsh : author / Mickey Forrester

Ewan McGregor : Mark Renton
Robert Carlyle : Begbie
Ewen Bremner : Spud
Kevin McKidd : Tommy
Kelly Macdonald : Diane
Keith Allen : Dealer
Eileen Nicholas : Mrs. Renton

James Cosmo : Mr. Renton
Susan Vidler : Allison
Pauline Lynch: Lizzy
Archie Macpherson: Archie Gemmill voiceover

Brian Tufano : cinematographer
Masahiro Hirakubo : editor
Kave Quinn : production designer
Rachael Fleming: costume designer
Gail Stevens : casting director
Penny Crawford : set dresser
Graham Johnston : makeup designer
Esme Young: Dale Winton's suit
Mike Valentine : underwater camera
Grant Mason : special effects
Lesley Stewart : production manager
Jill Robertson: assistant to producer
Saul Metzstein : location assistant

Miguel Sapochnik : art department runner 
Jason Kedgley : titles and credits
Dylan Kendle : titles and credits
Guy Cowan : caterer

Michael Grade : Chief Executive of Channel 4
David Aukin : Head of Film 4
Bill Stephens – Film 4 International

Michael Kuhn – President of PolyGram
David Livingstone - PolyGram marketing
Julia Short – PolyGram marketing
Stewart Till – International sales PolyGram

Mark Gill : Head of Marketing at Miramax


Iggy Pop  
Neil Barnes : Leftfield
Bobby Gillespie : Primal Scream

Karl Hyde : Underworld
Rick Smith : Underworld

Jonathan Channon - EMI Head of Film and TV
Tris Penna : EMI A&R

Mike Smith - EMI A&R 

Lorenzo Agius : photographer
Mark Blamire : poster designer

Jonathan Rutter : PR
Mark Salisbury: Empire Editor
Ian Nathan : Empire review / poster quote
Muriel Gray : journalist

Noel Gallagher

Lisa Moorish 

spotty pic_edited.jpg
bottom of page